Coping with Pregnancy Hormones as a PostGradMama

A brain dump on my current #postgradpregnancywoes

Contrary to my initial thoughts and feelings: growing a thesis and a baby IS hard. Harder than I thought it would be. Today I hit 21 weeks down and 19 to go with my pregnancy, and my postgrad/mama life balance isn’t getting any easier.

I am tired.
I am teary.
I am irritable.
I am subject to constant mood swings.
I am suffering from ‘baby brain.’
I am having trouble prioritising my life.
I am lacking in academic self-confidence.

And this lack of self-confidence means my academic productivity has slipped. Greatly. I have been avoiding my LitReview like the plague. But considering a) I want it done before Smeagol arrives and b) it won’t do itself, I need to somehow get myself out of this  rut and get my LitReview mojo back on track.

My goal is to read 2-5 articles every day (including weekends) with the average goal being to read 3 articles every day. Part of the reading includes transferring my notes to my LitReview notes document (I take notes as I read in Mendeley, but am starting to arrange them into something somewhat somehow someday structured in Word).

My other daily goal is to take time out to remember ‘Hey, I am pregnant’ and to stop stressing over the little things. The most important things are my well-being, the well-being of my little one and my husband (and my furbabies), and then worrying about academics.

Sometimes I feel like I need a similar wall mural to this infamous one by Homer Simpson:

Other PostGrad/Mamas:-
How do/did you cope with the postgrad/mama balance?

Help?!

Leave a Reply

